AANSS 2020

The ANBUG AINSE Neutron Scattering Symposium will be held virtually from 11th-13th November 2020 so attendees can sign in from wherever they are, not just Australia. The meeting will bring the user community of ANSTO’s neutron infrastructure together with other global experts/users of neutron instrumentation. Abstract submission is now open in the following theme areas:

  • Advanced Materials
  • Biological Systems
  • Biomedicine & Food Science
  • Chemistry & Crystallography
  • Cultural Heritage
  • Earth & Environment
  • Magnetism & Condensed Matter
  • Manufacturing & Engineering
  • Neutron Instruments & Techniques

The deadline for abstract submissions is 1st September 2020. Abstracts will be selected from across all career stages and students/early career researchers are encouraged to submit abstracts for oral presentations as well as posters. We look forward to welcoming you virtually to the AANSS in November and to hearing about your research.

Organising Committee

Main Program Organisers


Plenary & Invited Speakers

The organising committee led by Leonie van’t Hag and Livia Salvati Manni are in constructing an exciting line up of invited and plenary speakers from the local and global neutron community. The following speakers are have confirmed their presentations at AANSS 2020:

Plenary speaker

Keynote speaker

Invited speakers


The following prizes will be awarded for the best student oral and poster presentations:

  • First prize for student oral presentations – $400
  • Second prize for student oral presentations – $200
  • First prize for student poster presentations – $200
  • People’s choice award for student poster presentations – $100
  • Prize for winning trivia team – $100


In order to provide future student bursaries and prizes for the best student submissions the organising committee in consultation with the ANBUG executive committee has agreed on a reduced registration fee for the virtual meeting, which will be reduced even further for ANBUG members. ANBUG membership is free and if you haven’t already signed up to be an ANBUG member in the new membership system, please do so here.

To buy your tickets and register online please go to:


Remember to select the ANBUG member tickets which offer a reduced price if you are a member.

ANBUG is a volunteer not-for-profit organisation and any profits derived from the meeting will be directed back to users through bursaries and workshops/masterclasses in neutron techniques and instrumentation. Registration fees for AANSS 2020 will be as follows:

  • Staff (not ANBUG member) – $100
  • Staff (ANBUG member) – $50
  • Students (not ANBUG member) – $50
  • Students (ANBUG member) – $25
  • Retiree/Emeritus (not ANBUG member) – $50
  • Retiree/Emeritus (ANBUG member) – $25

Diversity Policy & Code of Conduct

ANBUG is committed to supporting equity and diversity of its membership and associated meetings. The ANBUG equity policy can be found here. ANBUG is also committed to providing a positive, respectful experience for all attendees at ANBUG-affiliated meetings and the code of conduct for attendees at ANBUG meetings can be found here.

ANBUG Awards at the AANSS 2020

ANBUG will be giving awards in four categories (sustained contribution award, outstanding research in neutron science award, young scientist award and outstanding PhD prize) at the user meeting and the details and nomination form can be found here.

Meeting Sponsors

Main event sponsor


Oral & Poster Prize sponsor