Australian AONSA Prize Winners

A lot of our ANBUG members might not be aware that we are a member of the Asia-Oceania Neutron Scattering Association (AONSA). Please check out their website ( if you’d like to learn more!

This year, two ANBUG members, Dr Teng Lu and Prof. Rob Robinson, were awarded AONSA prizes!

Dr Teng Lu, from ANU, was awarded a 2021 AONSA Young Research Fellowship. The title of his fellowship is “The order-disorder feature and lattice dynamics in silver niobate-based materials” and will be hosted by the J-PARC proton accelerator facility in Japan.

Prof Rob Robinson was awarded the 2021 AONSA prize “For his outstanding achievements in understanding magnetism of actinide and heavy-fermion materials using neutron scattering, seminal contributions in building the world-leading neutron facility in Australia, and continuous dedication for the promotion of neutron science in the Asia-Oceania region

ANBUG congratulates both Teng and Rob for their AONSA awards!

Eureka Prize Win to ANBUG Committee Member

ANBUG (albeit a little late!) wishes to congratulate its past secretary, Dr. Andrew Clulow, and his colleagues at Monash University for being awarded the 2020 Australian Museum Eureka Prize for Innovative Use of Technology.

This award acknowledged their innovative new synchrotron-based methods to study the interaction of milk and milk-like systems with drugs.

The team members, based in the Drug Delivery Disposition and Dynamics theme at the Monash Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences (MIPS), are Professor Boyd, Dr Malinda Salim, Dr Andrew Clulow and Ms Gisela Ramirez. Dr Adrian Hawley from the Australian Synchrotron is also an integral part of the team, providing the critical link to this major infrastructure that has been crucial to the advances made during the project.

Congratulations to Andy and all involved!