Applications for PhD thesis prize

A prize for an outstanding PhD thesis using neutron scattering techniques will be awarded at the 2018 AINSE/ANBUG Neutron Scattering Symposium. The prize will consist of $500 towards travel to a conference of the recipient’s choosing, refunded on submission of receipts.  The prize is sponsored by the Australian Centre for Neutron Scattering, ANSTO.

To apply please use the form available here. Deadline for applications is 2/11/2018.

Abstract submission now open for AANNS2018

The 2018 ANBUG-AINSE Neutron Scattering Symposium will be held on 19th – 21stNov 2018 at the AINSE conference centre, Lucas Heights, New South Wales, at the site of the ANSTO-operated OPAL research reactor near Sydney. The symposium is the biennial meeting of the neutron scattering community in Australia and New Zealand, and also welcomes the many international users of the Australian OPAL research reactor.

Abstracts can now be submitted at the conference webpage. Abstract submission will close 23 September.


ANBUG executive committee renewal

The ANBUG executive committee is due for renewal at the end of 2018, and we are looking for members who are interested in being part of the committee.

In 2019, Tracy Rushmer will become ANBUG president.  Our current president, Ian Gentle, will remain on the committee for a further two years as immediate past president.  We need to develop a slate of candidates for six other executive committee members.  One of the vacant positions is the office of vice president, who will become president in 2021.  Current executive committee members may also stand for re-election.

Once we have candidates, elections will be held and the new committee announced at our annual symposium AANSS, 19-21 November 2018.

If you are interested in becoming an ANBUG executive committee member, please email Katy Wood ( or Ian Gentle (  You should say whether you are interested in becoming vice president or one of the other members and send a short paragraph about yourself which will be circulated to members on voting.

Any questions please contact any of the ANBUG executive committee.

Call for AONSA Young Research Fellowship 2019

Applications are now sought for the AONSA Young Research Fellowship. The AONSA Young Research Program is to support highly talented young scientists in the Asia-Oceania region and develop their expertise and career in neutron science and technology.  The program provides financial support for Fellows to visit major neutron facilities in the region.   Application Form.  Further information available here.

AONSA 2018 Neutron School

The AONSA Neutron School will this year be held at Lucas Heights, 11-16 November.

The school provides an introduction to neutron scattering techniques including hands-on experiments and data analysis conducted using available instruments at ANSTO.

Graduate students, PhD students, post-doctoral and early-career researchers who want to learn about neutron scattering and imaging are encouraged to apply, deadline 15 June.

AANSS dates announced for 2018

The AINSE/ANBUG Neutron Scattering Symposium will be held this year, 19-21 November at Lucas Heights ANSTO.

After the success of the meeting in 2017 where we joined our colleagues in the synchrotron and accelerator communities in Melbourne, we will return to Sydney for a neutron specific symposium.

The annual ANBUG awards will be presented at this time.

The conference chair for this year’s event is Gail Iles from RMIT.   We are making every effort to keep this a low cost symposium and hope to be able to support student travel.

Powder Diffraction Data Analysis Workshop 24-26 September 2018 Sydney

The powder diffraction teams from the Australian Synchrotron and OPAL are hosting a 3 day powder diffraction data analysis workshop for beginners aimed at post-graduate students and early career researchers.

The workshop will include lectures and tutorials and present students with the opportunity to prepare a sample for X-ray measurement.

The workshop will be held 24-26th September 2018 at the University of Sydney

If there are questions please contact the Workshop Team at this email address:

ANBUG Outstanding Science Award for 2017: Prof. Chris Ling

The ANBUG Career Award for Outstanding Science was awarded to Prof. Chris Ling, University of Sydney. The announcement was made last week the ANSTO User Meeting held last week at the National Centre for Synchrotron Science, Melbourne.

Chris’s major neutron scattering achievements have been in the area of crystallography, utilising a mixture of single crystal and powder diffraction methods. As appropriate he has supplemented these studies with inelastic neutron measurements. He makes extensive use of the neutron scattering facilities at the new OPAL research reactor.

Chris is an extremely productive researcher having published thus far over 130 papers and has a H-index of 23. Highlights of the work he has conducted within Australia include the study of the unusual spin-gap behaviours in the hexagonal perovskites Ba3BiMO9 ( M = Ru, Ir) and the study of potential cathode materials for sodium batteries.

In addition to his outstanding research, Chris has played a significant role in promoting Neutron Scattering in Australia and in the wider Asian region. In particular, he is a past president of ANBUG, he was the Chair of the very successful AOCNS meeting held in Sydney in 2015, and he is currently Secretary of AONSA – in this last role he has made a significant contribution to a number of AONSA Neutron Schools.