# ANBUG Executive Committee Meeting on Monday 16 Oct, 10-11am AEST

Meeting held: by Zoom teleconference

**Present:** Chris Wensrich (CW, President), Grace Causer (GC, Website/Comms), Leonie van 't Hag (LH, Secretary), Yun Liu (YL, Past President), Tracy Rushmer (TR, Past President), Michael Preuss (MP, Vice-President), Teng Lu (TL, ECR Member),



**Apologies:** Kirrily Rule (KR, ANSTO member), Clemens Ulrich (CU, Treasurer), Ben Mallett (BM, Ordinary Member, NZ). Lu (Daniel) Jiang (LJ, ECR Member)

- 1. Welcome
- 2. President report (CW)

Started a dialogue with the motel regarding wifi/eduroam access and cooking facilities. They are responsive, but so far noncommittal. I have offered to join with them on a request to ANSTO for more eduroam access points and funding for a small kitchenette in the games room. Concerns around fire risk. David Blackhall ANSTO contact for motel management. Microwave / hotplate and pots/pans, fridges are available in the room. Internet was previously discussed with Jamie Schulz by YL.

#### 3. AUM2023 meeting

- Award nominations & selection committee, current closing date early October. The ANBUG awards <a href="https://anbug.net/anbug-awards/">https://anbug.net/anbug-awards/</a> will be presented at this years ANSTO User Meeting
  - o Confirmed: Jill Threwella, Andrew Nelson, Kirrily Rule, Chris Wensrich
  - Currently 2 nominations career award, 1 neutron award, 2 young scientist, 4 PhD and None for technical award. Review 2022 applications for eligible renominations.
  - Expected extension date: 15 Oct, review applications by 26 Oct, final decision and communication around 1-3 November. Make sure to prepare printed awards & frames and gift cards.
    - GC send email today extend till this Friday
- AGM breakfast on Tuesday 8am, room until 10am, including awards presentations
  - o Synchrotron in other room at the same time, with awards speakers
  - o Award winners will not get another talk so CW will check list / timetable
  - o Announce AGM, prepare agenda and annual report.
    - CW to look into this week, and YL to share previous year's examples
- The Dinner is when the awards are given on Tuesday evening

#### 4. Website & Communications

• Wild Apricot (GC, KR, TL, DJ), start early 2024

### 5. Finances (CU)

- Registration fees from AANSS2022 meeting (YL): to be followed up with Kelly / Paolo.
  - o CU will follow the discussion about the AANSS2022/23 registration fees.
  - YL did not manage to catch up with Kelly Cubin and Karyn Wilde yet, no reply. David Cortie helped to follow up.
- Wild Apricot: please send CU the invoice, he will pay and will then contact Jamie and Paolo for reimbursement.

## 6. Town Hall Events 2023 (KR, TL, BM)

- TL to add Youtube channel information to ANBUG general website / main page
- Organise Neutron Imaging town hall event for September or early October. TL to follow up.
  - o Joseph Bevitt has been contacted by TL. 26 October or 9 Nov, to allow for advertising and well before conference 9 Nov.
  - O Can distribute to imaging communities? Joseph may be able to help, RACI and AIP, synchrotron. Prepare flyer to share. Could have another academic speaker on materials applications combined with cultural heritage examples, or Joseph share different examples from a range of fields. Combination of X-ray and neutron scattering opportunities. Strain scanning / use of Kowari, Anna Paradowska / Mark Reid
  - o ANBUG could also set up a LinkedIn to distribute more widely. YL/ TL see if student wants to set it up.

## 7. Any other business

Next meetings / 2024 committee?

Contact Ben (NZ representative)

AFM then February

Call for Volunteers to organise 2024 AANSS meeting

Change in Travel Support Funding ANSTO (Total \$200 Sydney-based ground transport per experiment)

Access not improved (bus / ACNS car booking system / food access)

No encouraging users and supervisors to attend

Send letter to Jamie / Paolo, LvH with CW then follow up at AGM

TL, YL and GC will not attend AUM. TR not sure yet as working with DFAT and may be away.

Congratulations to TL for receiving DECRA award and YL elected as fellow of ATSE.