Applications for PhD thesis prize

A prize for an outstanding PhD thesis using neutron scattering techniques will be awarded at the 2018 AINSE/ANBUG Neutron Scattering Symposium. The prize will consist of $500 towards travel to a conference of the recipient’s choosing, refunded on submission of receipts.  The prize is sponsored by the Australian Centre for Neutron Scattering, ANSTO.

To apply please use the form available here. Deadline for applications is 2/11/2018.

ANBUG executive committee renewal

The ANBUG executive committee is due for renewal at the end of 2018, and we are looking for members who are interested in being part of the committee.

In 2019, Tracy Rushmer will become ANBUG president.  Our current president, Ian Gentle, will remain on the committee for a further two years as immediate past president.  We need to develop a slate of candidates for six other executive committee members.  One of the vacant positions is the office of vice president, who will become president in 2021.  Current executive committee members may also stand for re-election.

Once we have candidates, elections will be held and the new committee announced at our annual symposium AANSS, 19-21 November 2018.

If you are interested in becoming an ANBUG executive committee member, please email Katy Wood ( or Ian Gentle (  You should say whether you are interested in becoming vice president or one of the other members and send a short paragraph about yourself which will be circulated to members on voting.

Any questions please contact any of the ANBUG executive committee.

Call for AONSA Young Research Fellowship 2019

Applications are now sought for the AONSA Young Research Fellowship. The AONSA Young Research Program is to support highly talented young scientists in the Asia-Oceania region and develop their expertise and career in neutron science and technology.  The program provides financial support for Fellows to visit major neutron facilities in the region.   Application Form.  Further information available here.

AONSA 2018 Neutron School

The AONSA Neutron School will this year be held at Lucas Heights, 11-16 November.

The school provides an introduction to neutron scattering techniques including hands-on experiments and data analysis conducted using available instruments at ANSTO.

Graduate students, PhD students, post-doctoral and early-career researchers who want to learn about neutron scattering and imaging are encouraged to apply, deadline 15 June.

AANSS dates announced for 2018

The AINSE/ANBUG Neutron Scattering Symposium will be held this year, 19-21 November at Lucas Heights ANSTO.

After the success of the meeting in 2017 where we joined our colleagues in the synchrotron and accelerator communities in Melbourne, we will return to Sydney for a neutron specific symposium.

The annual ANBUG awards will be presented at this time.

The conference chair for this year’s event is Gail Iles from RMIT.   We are making every effort to keep this a low cost symposium and hope to be able to support student travel.

Powder Diffraction Data Analysis Workshop 24-26 September 2018 Sydney

The powder diffraction teams from the Australian Synchrotron and OPAL are hosting a 3 day powder diffraction data analysis workshop for beginners aimed at post-graduate students and early career researchers.

The workshop will include lectures and tutorials and present students with the opportunity to prepare a sample for X-ray measurement.

The workshop will be held 24-26th September 2018 at the University of Sydney

If there are questions please contact the Workshop Team at this email address:

ANBUG awards 2017

ANBUG Awards 2017 Nomination Form

ANBUG offers awards to outstanding members of the neutron user community in the following two areas:

ANBUG Career Award – for sustained contribution to a scientific subfield, or subfields, using neutron scattering techniques.

ANBUG Neutron Award – for outstanding research in neutron science and leadership promoting the Australian neutron scattering community.

This year we would like to recognise the achievements of our users by awarding one or both of these awards and nominations are now open. Nominations should be submitted to the ANBUG Secretary ( by close of business on Friday 3rd November, 2017.

Awards will be presented at the ANSTO User Meeting. 22-24 November 2017