2023 ANSTO User Meeting

ANSTO is pleased to be hosting the ANSTO User Meeting – AUM2023 in person at the Southern Sydney Event Centre in Hurstville from 27th – 29th November . The meeting will provide a unique opportunity for researchers who have accessed ANSTO’s research infrastructure and capabilities in the last year to showcase their research and outcomes.  It is also an opportunity for prospective users to hear about the unique capabilities of ANSTO’s research infrastructure, which comprises a suite of neutron beam instruments in Sydney and synchrotron beamlines in Melbourne as well as a range of other capabilities for scientific investigations including deuterated products, radiation measurements, use of natural and radioactive isotopes, radiochemistry, materials characterisation, accelerator mass spectrometry and ion beam analysis amongst others.

The call for abstracts is now open.

2023 ANBUG Awards

Nominations are now open for the 2023 ANBUG Awards. ANBUG recognises the achievements of our members annually in the following areas: Career award, Neutron Award, Young Scientist Award, Technical Award and Outstanding PhD Prize.

Please refer to the nomination form and forward completed applications to the ANBUG Secretary (secretary@anbug.net) by 5pm 1st October 2023

ANBUG-ANSTO Lecture Series on Inelastic Neutron Scattering

The second lecture of the ANBUG-ANSTO lecture series on INS will be held on April 21st from 11:00 to 12:30 AEST. The lecture will focus on Time-of-flight neutron spectrometry and triple-axis neutron spectrometry.

Visit our YouTube channel to get more information:

PELICAN –a Time of Flight Cold Neutron Spectrometer – Operation and Scientific Highlights – YouTube

Introduction to neutron scattering experiments with triple axis spectrometers – YouTube

ANBUG Town Hall Events 2023: ANBUG-ANSTO Lecture Series on Inelastic Neutron Scattering

In this year, ANBUG Town Hall Events will first hold a series of lectures on inelastic neutron scattering, which contains 4-5 lectures, covering the principles, instrument techniques, data processing, as well as theoretical calculations. Everyone who is interested in this field is welcome to join the lectures.

The first lecture will be held on Tuesday, 4th April at 11 am. Dr Kirrily Rule from ACNS will give a talk entitled ‘Neutron scattering for dynamic investigations – an overview of inelastic neutron scattering capabilities at ANSTO’.

Visit our YouTube channel to get more information: Introduction to Inelastic Neutron Scattering at ANSTO – YouTube

ANBUG awards for 2022 announced

The Australian Neutron Beam User Group awards were announced on 9 November 2022, at the AINSE ANBUG Neutron Scattering Symposium.

Congratulations to all of the recipients! Each of the awardees has made unique and valuable scientific, technical, and leadership contributions to the neutron scattering community.